Florida Business License
Whether you are planning to form an LLC or start a Corporation, either way you will require a Business License also known as an Occupational License. Business license is a Florida state requirement and acquiring the same will ensure you are able to operate your business with ease. It is important to note that without a proper license, the state of Florida can levy heavy penalties or fines and it might even lead to closure of your business.
How do you get a Florida company license? What are the requirements? What type of business licenses exist in the state? These are some of the questions that you will be confronted with. So, let’s get an insight into the nitty-gritty of business licensing in the state of Florida.
How to Obtain Florida State Business License
There are several counties in Florida where you might not require a license for conducting business while in others you will. Secondly, business license in Florida varies from industry to industry as specified by Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Tallahassee FL.
The fees and licensing requirements will be governed by type of business activities, the county or city your business is operating from, and specific state government laws.
How and where can you get your Florida company license from? The Florida state business license is issued by Department of Business and Professional Regulation or the Tax Collector Department of the County, you propose to operate your business from.
Types of Business License in Florida
According to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, a business license in the state of Florida can be issued for 30 different industries. It is also important to note that the state of Florida requires a business or occupational license in almost 326 businesses and professions. There are certain businesses that will require license in Florida although in several other states they can operate without one. For example, epidemiologists and interior design firms require licensing in Florida but not in many other states.
Hence, it is important that you check beforehand whether your business requires a business license in Florida or not.
An important aspect of business licensing in the state of Florida is that there are different types of license required for sub categories. Let’s look at an example. If you have opted to be a vendor for alcoholic beverages then the license fee will be dependent on type of beverage, county or city sale (target audience), consumption on premise, and specialty licenses for special food service establishments. The fee can vary from as low as $28 to $1820. The form for acquiring such a business license in Florida would be form 6001 and 6020.
Some of the industry categories that require Florida state business license include Asbestos Contractors & Consultants, Kick Boxing & Mixed Martial Arts, Barbers, Certified Public Accounting, Cosmetology, Employee Leasing Companies, Landscape Architecture, Hotels & Restaurants, Timeshares, and Talent Agencies among others.
Order LLC now Order INC now
Note: The review and processing of the license application form varies from one county to another but as a norm it can take anywhere from 5 to 14 business days for professional business license in Florida.